Online Certificate Course in Environmental Management at USTM


Guwahati, April 29: ‘A One-Month Certificate Course in Environmental Management’ organized by Department of Earth Sciences, USTM in collaboration with Department of Environmental Sciences, Tezpur University has started April 26.

Professor Vijay P. Singh (Texas A&M University, USA), renowned hydrologist, civil engineer and environmental scientist, delivered the lecture on the first day. In the lecture, he explained well the concept of ecosystem, the components of the environment, the human-environment relationship, the challenges due to the increase in population, the change of habits, industrialization and development. economic and management strategies through modelling, policy and technological interventions.

The session brought together more than 80 participants from all over the world. Prof. Chandan Mahanta (IIT Guwahati) opened the course with a brief note on the relevance and necessity of the unique Environmental Management course.

Internationally renowned scientist, Prof. GD Sharma, Hon’ble VC, USTM commended the department for offering this important course. He also mentioned the scope of the course. At the beginning, Professor E. Karim, Dean of the USTM School of Applied Sciences gave a short but beautiful presentation introducing the USTM. Dr. EA Huda, HoD, Earth Sciences presented the Department of Earth Sciences. The session was coordinated by Dr. Lalit Saikia, course coordinator and assistant professor. Dr. Nirmali Gogoi, Asst. Professor, Tezpur University offered a vote of thanks at the end.

The course will continue until May 25 in online mode (Zoom platform) in the evening. The eminent external resource persons communicated/confirmed for different sessions are Prof. D. Nagesh Kumar (IISc Bangalore), Dr. Gyan Prakash Sharma (University of Delhi), Prof. Utpal Bora (IIT Guwahati), Dr. Sudip Mitra (IIT Guwahati), Dr. Ram Pravesh Kumar (JNU), Prof. Abhijit Mukherjee (IIT Kharagpur), W. Kharkrang (PCB of Meghalaya State), Dr. Sanajy O’Neill Shaw (RMC, Guwahati), Prof. RR Hoque (Tezpur University), Dr. Nirmali Gogoi (Tezpur University) Dr. Moonmoon Hiloidhari (Nalanda University) and Dr. Mayuri Chabukdhara (Cotton University).

Interested candidates should WhatsApp the course coordinator @ 8134884439 at the earliest.


Comments are closed.