Raimona declared sixth national park in Assam on World Environment Day


On World Environment Day, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma declared Raimona sixth national park in Assam on Saturday.

Informing of the Assam government’s decision, Chief Minister Sarma said a process was underway to transform Dehing Patkai Wildlife Sanctuary into a national park.

“The government has decided to transform the Raimona sanctuary at BTR into a national park; work is also underway to give Dehing Patkai national park status, ”Chief Minister Sarma tweeted.

On the occasion of World Environment Day, Chief Minister Sarma visited Gandhi Mandap in Guwahati.

He planted 11 saplings from Rudraksh to Gandhi Mandap.

“The coronavirus pandemic has taught us to be responsible towards our environment. The planting of saplings is a decisive step towards the restoration of ecosystems. On World Environment Day, happy to have planted 11 Rudraksh saplings in Gandhi Mandap, Guwahati, ”Sarma tweeted.

He also urged young people in the state to “plant more trees and work for the protection of the environment by adopting sustainable practices in line with the ideals of Mahatma Gandhi”.

After declaring Raimona a national park, Sarma tweeted, “A giant leap from the government of Assam towards realizing the UN vision on ecosystem restoration. New national park at BTR declared on the occasion of World Environment Day.

Raimona National Park is located in Kachugaon Forest Division, Gossaigaon Subdivision, Kokrajhar District in Assam.

It is famous for Golden Langur, the pride of Bodoland.

Asian elephant, tiger, cloudy leopard, Indian gaur, wild buffalo, spotted deer, hornbill, more than 150 species of butterflies, 170 species of birds, 380 species of plants and several species of orchids are available in this national park. .

In November 2020, Assam’s Forestry Minister Parimal Suklabaidya released a map of the new national park.

The Ripu Reserve Forest, covering an area of ​​422 km², will henceforth be known as Raimona National Park.

The other five national parks in Assam are Kaziranga National Park, Manas National Park, Nameri National Park, Dibru-Saikhowa National Park and Orang National Park.

The Ripu Reserve Forest was previously part of the buffer zone of Manas National Park on the border of Bhutan.


Comments are closed.